Tobacco usage should be regulated by Government or no?

Tobacco is one of the largest used drugs around the globe mainly in the form of cigarettes. The adverse effects of smoking are not confined only to the users, but also impacts passive smokers. This has created a burden on the community welfare cost, such as increased health care cost and decrease in the level of productivity by such people. Some opine, such choices must be at the disposal of an individual, whereas others feel Government needs to regulate these choices to protect the citizens. As per my opinion, though individual choices cannot be regulated, Government can intervene by levying heavy taxes and creating awareness among the masses.

People are the backbone of a nation’s development. If the citizens are healthier, they can contribute better towards the country’s GDP growth and development. However, few of the harmful effects of smoking is reduction in the productivity and life expectancy index, thereby impacting the country’s growth. It is imperative, Government creates an awareness of such harmful effects at a young age, schools and colleges can create an environment where children are not victimized due to lack of awareness.

Secondly, Government can impose heavy taxes or duties making it costlier. Authorities can regulate the import of cigarettes by keeping a ceiling on such import items. This will reduce the purchasing power of an individual. Smoking is a form of an addiction. To overcome it, rehabilitation centers or various methods to control addiction should be made known to the people.

While the choice of smoking remains with the user, Government can play a pivotal role in controlling the supply of such items in the market to protect the citizens of its nation.