The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

Since many years, animal rights have been argued on a number of grounds. Whether a zoo facilitates better living for animals or are another means of torturing them is highly debated. Some opine that zoos must be banned. We will discuss the pros and cons of both in this essay.

Animals kept in the zoo get the required aid on timely basis. To elaborate, medical emergencies are catered to them as and when required. This has saved the lives of many animals. Additionally, some bird sanctuaries are housed with birds that would have otherwise become extinct in the outside environment. As such, these zoos have contributed to some extent towards the protection and preservation of some animals.

However, one cannot deny the fact that there are some atrocities inflicted on some animals in order to entertain the visitors. To exemplify, some zoos allow pictures with animals and snakes for some extra money. These animals by nature are ferocious and venomous, but they are trained extensively and inhumanly to help these institutes earn more money.

To conclude, every species should be allowed to live and breathe in their natural habitat. This is true even for animals. They are conditioned to adapt their bodies and react in their own environment. As such, zoos and forest officials should collectively contribute towards the conservation of wildlife. Those that need shelter for further preservation can be kept in the zoo and those that are meant to thrive in their natural conditions should not be forced in the zoos.