In under developed countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the

opposite as well.

The international travel has become easier due to the reduced air-fare costs. Many underdeveloped countries are thriving to improve their economy by expanding the tourism industry and making it as one of the key element. This brings both the merits and demerits of it. This essay will discuss both the aspects and will offer reasons to support the viewpoints.

First of all, the tourism industry caters the requirements of entertainment, restaurants, transportation and hotels which means the development of jobs for those who do not possess a degree and are living under the poverty line. Secondly,unlike the industrial sector this is green field which means no generation of pollution to impact the environment. Finally, the beautiful landscapes are the symbols of the country which serve as the tourist attraction and picnic spots, in order to maintain the industry, the government has to play an important role to preserve them.

On the negative sides, many local people get impressed by the foreigner tourists and try to imitate their culture thus, shadowing their own local culture. Many tourists carry with them expensive cameras and mobile phones, which is an invitation to the theft. Crime also increases as a result of involvement in the drug smuggling and prostitution.

To sum up, the tourism industry is advantageous for the underdeveloped countries to make their name in the world, creation of lot of jobs for the local people and preserving the country's beautiful landmarks.