Nowadays, there has been a colossal upsurge to see that a tourism becomes a booming industry, be it in an affluent or impoverished nation. However, the phenomenon of tourism in developing countries and its corresponding effects has sparked a heated debate. In this essay, I shall elaborate both merits and demerits of this contentious topic.

At the outset, there are myriad of advantages which can be associated with the development of tourism industry in developing countries. The most conspicuous one is that it is the biggest source of generating revenues for the individuals and the governments. Not only it broadens the person’s mind and reduces the culture shock but it also makes people less prejudiced and enables them to interact more. In addition, tourism plays a vital role in strengthening the healthy relations among countries which will keep the developing countries at the preponderant position.

On the flip side, increasing flux of tourist works as ruining the aesthetic value of traditional art forms. Moreover, it leads to accumulation of waste and due to inadequate disposal system, environment and public health are put at risk. Furthermore, anti-social elements use the anonymity prevailing at tourist sport to perpetrate criminal activities like terrorism, a great concern for every civil society. International visitors also bring along the new epidemics that disturb the health system of the entire nation and prove to be fatal, for instance, Swine flue in India had come from another country.

To recapitulate, from above-mentioned arguments, it can be concluded that tourism industry work as an economy booster and proffers the opportunities to learn about innumerable cultures; joint efforts from tourist, local citizens and government are needed to ensure that demerits of this shining industry do not overwhelm the potential benefits of it.