Technological access to online music and the like should be paid or free. What do you think?

In recent years, due to advancement in technology, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see prodigies discussing the value of online music in terms of money. There are academics who believe that artists pour their heart and soul in creating the music and hence should not be available at free of cost. However, rest advocates otherwise. In this essay, I shall elaborate both the sides of the arguments and derive the plausible conclusion.

Firstly, there are many arguments which could be attributed towards making the music available online for free. The most conspicuous one is that artists already receive the hefty amount in the form of royalties, live concerts, selling merchandises, and licensing fees for their music albums. Not only free access to online music would proffer the general public to have the golden opportunity to listen to their all-time favorite music at any given point of time but it will also succor the artist to be famous at no extra cost and efforts to put into it. Moreover, newcomers can learn from the eminent singers’ uploaded music videos and sharpen their artistic skills.

On the flip side, critics argue that anything accessible at free loses its value and thus, they put forward their concern that if the music is available at free of charge, would be taken for granted. Moreover, artists create music by putting their tremendous money, meticulous efforts with the aim to earn from it and not it as a hobby. Thus, they would expect to make huge profits like other business tycoons do and its quite fair to do so.

To recapitulate, form the above-mentioned arguments, it can be concluded that benefits of making free music available online are too great to ignore. However, joint efforts from government and artist should be made to secure the revenue of the artists.