In urban areas, harmful motor vehicle emissions are responsible for anywhere between 50 and 90 percent of air pollution. Motor vehicles emit a number of pollutants- the most damaging to human health is particulate matter, a combination of organic material and inorganic substances. Should cars be banned from city centers in order to reduce pollution or should other measures be taken?

Major air pollution in cities spread by the emission of harmful gases from motor vehicles. The most dangerous pollutants which get released from motor vehicles are a combination of organic material and inorganic substances. It is often argued that whether cars should be banned from shopping malls or other measures should be taken to tackle this issue. This essay will discuss why banning vehicles from city centers is not an ultimate solution to mitigate air pollution and other approaches need to be undertaken.

Motor vehicles should not be banned from shopping malls to alleviate the level of air pollution. People travel to city centers basically for the purpose of shopping and it provides ease to them to carry back their shopping baggage directly to their home by their cars. It will certainly create a big problem of hiring public transport or taxis with huge numbers of shopping bags. Banning of cars will result into accumulation of more public transports and taxis near city centers, which will also lead to the increase in air pollution level. Hence, personal cars banning will not prove to be a realistic solution for alleviating air pollution level.

Several useful measures can be taken by the government in order to mitigate the air pollution level in cities. More precisely, by introducing more and more electric vehicles, the problem of air pollution can be reduced significantly. According to a recent study the air pollution level has been significantly dropped to a lower level by the use of electric motors in Bangalore city of India. Planting of more trees can also be a useful way to lower the air pollution level in the urban areas. Thus, by adopting to such measures we can alleviate the air pollution level in cities.

This essay discussed how banning of cars from city centers is not a proper solution to alleviate the air pollution in cities, however introduction of motor vehicles and plantation can play a key role in this course of action. In my view, we should focus more on the use of electric vehicles and planting of trees in order to mitigate the air pollution level in cities.