A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

In today's era of technology, the skill of writing from hand is becoming obsolete day by day. Due to the widespread use of smartphones and other technical devices, kids are not getting used to hand writing. This essay will discuss the reasons why schools should not stop teaching handwriting and why handwriting is still relevant in today's post-paper world.

Most notably, hand writing is a very prominent skill which we are learning since ages. Schools should not cease teaching handwriting because it helps in developing our brains work more efficiently which a smartphones can not do. To illustrate, while writing an individual needs to think in his mind as well as has to move his fingers in order to inscribe different letters, however one has to just scroll up and down while accessing smartphones. Thus, to make the brains of students more active, schools should not stop teaching handwriting.

Although we are living in a post-paper world the concept of hand writing is still alive among umpteen people. Many old aged people who are not quite familiar or do not find themselves comfortable in using such electronic devices for the course of writing, they prefer to write with their hands on paper. In short, the popularity of handwriting is still popular among many individuals despite of smartphones.

This essay has discussed why the schools should not stop teaching handwriting and it is still relevant because it develops one's brain activity and some people find it more comfortable to write with their hands. In my opinion, the course of handwriting should be continued in schools for the better cognitive growth of a child.