What do you think about playing ‘no smoking’ cautionary videos in the beginning of a feature film in a theatre? Do you think it really helps people to quit smoking? Do you think it is necessary?

Recently, the government has ordered to play 'no smoking' advertisement before playing the movie in the cinema halls. It has created debate across the world, and many people think awareness programs are required and help citizens to avoid the tobacco and other drugs, whereas opponent thinks otherwise. In my opinion, these cautionary advertisements will educate people with the side-effects of smoking and other drugs. This essay will demonstrate various facts and arguments, and it will lead to a conclusion.

To commence with, advertisements play an essential role in educating people. It has been observed that most of the people are excited to go to the movie theatre and they are focused before the starting on the movie. So running a ‘no smoking’ cautionary video at the start of a movie in the cinema hall is the best way to grab the focus of the people. For instance, a study conducted by Cinema Society suggest that 40% of people are influenced by the advertisements.

On the other hand, many people think that it does not have any concrete result as most of the people ignore the advertisement once they leave the movie hall. Also, some people think it is wastage of time as advertisement takes a good amount of time before the actual movie starts. Last but not the least people think their mood gets spoiled because of the gross and ugly advertisements.

In conclusion, in the view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that statutory warnings and cautionary videos are beneficial for society and citizens.