When computers first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Skeptics claim that the opposite is true as computers have proved disappointing in terms of productivity, and have made us less happy and more stupid because information is not knowledge.

Which of these points of view do you agree with most? Support your argument with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

The impact of computers on our productivity and general happiness has always been the source of controversy. The essay will discuss why computers are helping us positively in our daily work and life.

On the one hand, computers are great tools to support human in multiple areas. With their super fast computation power, they are irreplaceable in sciences and businesses. For example, weather forecasting would not be possible without the help of computers. For personal usage, computers offer us better ways of learning and entertainment. Thanks to the internet, all information and knowledge can be easily looked up, store and distributed. With their multimedia supports, music, movies are now accessible everywhere at the finger tip.

On the other hand, it is true that computers can also be the source of problem to general productivity and lifestyle. Gaming, chatting and browsing of social networking sites can distract people during working hours, as well as disconnect people from physical interactions. However, they are just some side effects of wrong usage and addiction to computers.

In conclusion, despite of some negative impacts, the benefits that computers bring us far outweigh the drawbacks. In my opinion, computers are helping us more and more in every aspects of life.