During the last few decades have been increasing the controversy whether studying film as a subject in the school is as beneficial as literature. Certainly, there are many implications to consider regarding this topic. In this essay, I will examine the arguments to weight the significance of each matter.

During centuries literature has been on the center of the education as the main part of the syllabus of every educational institution. The fundamental merit of literature is that conquer generations and preserve the valuable culture of traditions. Ultimately, the literature encompasses the cognitive process of reading and the imagination which allows the students to develop their critical thinking. This is exemplified by the recent study performed by the University of Harvard that showed the direct correlation between the hours consumed reading and the writing proficiency.

Alternatively, the importance of films in the classroom has a significant relevance in terms of efficiency and engagement. The films allow the student to enter into another dimension of knowledge without putting much effort. This consideration is highly important due to the lack of concentration that most children show, by watching a movie the pupils can learn a more didactic and less tedious way. For instance, a recent study performed by social scientists show no difference in memory retention between the two media, text and video.

In summary, it was analyzed the divergent arguments regarding the potential of films as an educational aid compared with traditional books, reaching the conclusion that literature has more long-term benefits overall.