Whether television is a companion for human beings

In the modern world, television has become a common sighting in every household. Although television has provided lot of benefits to the mankind, it has negatively impacted our lives to a great extent. This essay will discuss whether the television can be a good companion to human beings.

Television is part of almost every home irrespective of their financial status, barring few exceptions. The most common uses of television include getting updated about the trending news all over the world almost instantly, as a medium of entertainment and as a tool to gain knowledge about myriads of topics of interest. For example, a school student watching National Geographic channel on television gets information about the life cycle of a Penguin that lives in Antarctica or can watch the latest rocket launch by NASA. Hence, television is an extremely powerful medium for communication and entertainment and can act as a true companion for human beings.

Although television revolutionized the media industry, it is also known to have few adverse side effects as well. Certain people watch television for long hours which can result in less social interactions, as well as they are at risk of straining their eyes or develop obesity due to long hours of being seated at one place. For example, a study done at a university in the USA showed that watching too much television was one of the top 5 reasons for obesity among college students in the country. However, these adverse effects can be controlled by restricting the number of hours television is being watched.

This essay argued on the topic that television is a good companion for human beings or not. Based on the facts, it is evident the advantages of television outweigh the disadvantages. In conclusion, television can be used as good friend for human beings if used within certain limits.