The world is severely suffering from plastic contamination. Some people believe that one measure that can be taken to start alleviating this problem is to ban supermarkets from offering plastic bags to their customers. Do you agree with this point of view?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is the colossal upsurge in the plastic usage, and the world is severely suffering from plastic contamination. Though it can be agreed that banning supermarkets from offering plastic bags to their customers, will have some impact but the entire problem cannot be alleviated. On the other hand, sceptics hold the opposite view; however, this essay will discuss the advantages of banning plastic bags.

There are myriads of argument in favour of my stance, but the most preponderant one is that it will reduce the usage of plastic bags. Supermarket customers will be forced to re-use their existing bags, or they have to buy more durable cloth bags. As an illustration, recent research published has invariably revealed that in India after banning supermarkets from offering plastic bags to their customers, the overall plastic bag usage has decreased by 5%, though the figure is not that impressive but it can be considered as a good start to reducing the plastic consumption.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that it paves the way for the re-usable bags and other products. Supermarkets will be forced to offer reusable bags at minimal cost. They have to invest in research to develop eco-friendly items, to reduce the plastic contamination. Let me put forth an article published in the New York Times, which mentioned how a supermarket chain in the UK came up with the innovative idea for this problem.

Give the above discussion, it can be concluded that plastic contamination is a serious problem, and we have to find different innovative ways to curb the plastic usage. Though banning supermarket from offering plastic bags to their customers, might not have a significant impact. However, it can be considered as a good start.