Some developed countries have spent billions of dollars on space research. Some people consider this to be an irresponsible attitude since millions of people on Earth are suffering from hunger. What is your opinion?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is the colossal upsurge in the space research by the developed countries. Though it can be agreed that space exploration has many advantages like getting knowledge of our galaxy and other planets. However, others hold the different view since many people on the Earth are dying out of hunger every year. However, this essay will discuss the advantages of space research and exploration.

There are myriads of argument in favour of my stance, but the most preponderant one is that it allows people to know about the universe. Undoubtedly, space exploration has answered the question whether the Earth is round or not and proved that Earth does revolve around the sun. However, it does much more than that: it gives people more inside about the universe and provides the information about the world they live in. It helps them to realise that their problems are not that debilitating in the grand scheme of things while reminding them of how fortunate they are to be part of the vast and majestic universe.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that it paves the way for the advanced technology. Scientists are always developing new technologies for space research programs, but this innovations aren’t just useful for astronauts and space missions but can be used by industries to make new products and gadgets. These include GPS systems, Teflon-coated fibreglass and cancer test imaging. Also, a recent report published in the New York Times has revealed that space missions are creating numerous job opportunities as well.

Given the above discussion, it can be concluded that the space research is essential for the development of the human race, but the hunger problem of underdeveloped countries cannot be ignored as well. The experts need to strike a balance between both and come up with a viable solution.