Some democrats claim that people who do not take part in voting processes do not have the right to complaint about the situation their communities are in. What is your position regarding this opinion?

If you do not vote, you do not have the right to complain. Democrats have discussed this topic for decades. Which inevitably leads to a moot question of ethics. Can ethics be compromised in the name of ballot paper? Whereas it is a widely held view, but this essay will discuss the rights of non-voters and against the stance of Democrats.

Democrats, says that communities who do not put effort to select their leaders through the election loose rights to complain. However, they are also human beings, and as a rule of basic humanity, they do have the right to ask. Not voting does not take away their fundamental rights. They can question elected leaders even though they have not voted or elected them.

On the other hand, people who believe in the above state quote, say’s that voting needs to be compulsory, but they tend to forget that voting and election are just a tip of the iceberg. There are many other ways to make an impact on elected government, be it protest, community building, activism. A government can not deny any social rights to the people who did not participate in the election process.

To conclude, in any democracy fundamental human rights are utmost important. Weather anybody votes or not. Any elected government, cannot deny their accountability towards any of their citizens. Thus, participating in voting does not matter much.