Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given passage, the author concludes that the decreasing number of arctic deers is solely due to the global warming trends. To support the argument, the author points out that the reports, provided by local hunters, show that the deer populations are declining and that such decrease coincides with global warming trends.This argument is flawed in several critical respects and thus to evaluate the argument properly, it is necessary to have more evidences.

First of all, the author presumes that the reports provided by local hunters are credible. Although this might be the case, it is possible that the reports may be found to be false or exaggerated. There is no information given in terms of how the reports are produced, based on what statistics, and when. It is entirely possible, for example, that the local hunters did not investigate thoroughly, and thus omitted considerable number of deers in their statistics. Or, it is even possible that the majority number of reports are simply fraud. Without any corroborative evidence, this conclusion could not be evaluated adequately.

Even if the reports from local hunters are somehow guaranteed to be true, the author still confuses causal and correlational relation. It is assumed that the deer populations have decreased solely because of the global warming trends, which might be simply coinciding. It is entirely possible, for example, that the number of deers shot by local hunters have sharply increased over the past years or that there appeared a kind of toxic plant that has fatal impact on deers. Without a clear evidence that shows a causal relation between the decrease of the deer populations and the recent global warming trends, the author’s conclusion would still remain dubious.

Finally, even conceding the author’s assumptions discussed above, the author unreasonably assumes that deers must follow the age-old migration pattern to survive. Although this might be the case, it is possible that deers may not need to move as they used to feed themselves. It is entirely possible, for example, that they stop moving to other region, since more plants start to grow as the temperature raises due to global warming. Without ruling out these possibilities, the author cannot persuade us.

In sum, the argument is a specious on. To strengthen it, the author must provide clear evidence that the reports provided by local hunters are credible, that there is evident causal relation between the decrease of deer population and the recent global warming trends, and that deers must follow the age-old migration pattern to survive regardless of any circumstantial changes. If the author takes these flaws into consideration when arguing for the conclusion as suggested in the passage, then the argument might become more plausible.