Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author believes that the purported decline in Arctic dear population is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns for food across the frozen sea, which have been melted due to global warming. While her argument may sound logical, the correlation between her claims are tenuous and would require further evidence to susbstantiate her claims.

Firstly, the author claims that global warming is the cause of the population decline of the deers. She assumes that because the reportings of population decline coincides with the recent global warming trends, the decline can be attributed to global warming. Nonetheless, she fails to provide evidence regarding any possibility of other external forces that may affect the populatoin of the deers. It could have been over hunting by the hunters causing the deers to perish, or an increase in car accidents killing deers as a result of urbanization. So many factors may come into play..

Secondly, elaborating on the effects of global warming towards the Arctic lands, not only will it melt more ice, it will also make more areas warmer to sustain plants the deers feed on. This would mean that the deers may no longer need to follow their old migration patterns based on the search of food, because their current habitat provides more food to sustain their population. The hunters who are oblivious to this change may obtusely follow their old migration patterns and thus thought the deers were declining. This would mean that their reportings are highly subjective, and may not be a reliable source to account for the number of deers.

Lastly, global warming has been affecting the world since a century ago. It is only recently had the general public become aware of the insidious effects of global warming. If global warming truly is the source of the decline, this decline should have been observed well over a century ago. Unless of course the warming has been exacerbated locally due to many new factories being build near the islands, it is unlikely that global warming is the main reason why the deers are perishing.

In conclusion, although global warming may be affecting the Arctic island habitat, we cannot be certain that it is causing the deers to decline. Unless the author can provide evidence to support her claims, the decrease may equally likely to be caused by other factors, or may not even be happening.