In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The author presents an argument that an improvement in road projects in prunty county will

reduce the number of accidents based on the results observed by improvement of roads in Butler county five years ago. Eventhough improvement in roads is mandatory for highway safety but failing to discuss the assumptions which were considered in arriving at the argument makes it weak.

Firstly, quoting that prunty county also requires an improvement in roads like bounty fails to explain or quote the current road conditions of Prunty county. It is possible that prunty county has wide lanes and smooth surfaces already.Moreover we don' t know if the geographical or demographic conditions of both the county' s are similar. If the author would have compared the conditions of road in prunty and also the similarity of geographical conditions of both county' s it would have strengthened the argument.

Secondly, the author states the decrease in accidents in bounty is 25% in past year eventhough the roads have been expanded 5 years ago, it is possible that the roads have become very old now and surface might be rough So improvement in roads doesn't necessarily explain the exact reason for the decrease in road accidents in highways and also author fails to explain if there are any other measures taken by govenrment in decreasing the road accidents.

Finally,even if we consider both county' s are similar,the 25% decrease in accidents does not give a definitive figure of how many accidents are reduced in butler county. It is possible that the number is very less so in percentage it shows a higher value. Incase if the number of accidents in prunty is pretty high the reduction in terms of percentage may seem very less and might not be a effective method for preventing accidents.

To conclude, the author fails to provide substantial evidence thereby failing to persuade the readers in agreeing to the given argument. If the above stated statistics are compared for both the county' s and similarities are shown then the argument would have been more stronger.