In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that last year prunty county had restricted the speed from 55 to 45mph in order to reduce the number of accidents but it has failed. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that the number of accidents has not diminished and according to highway safety report, driver do not respect to speed limit. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if speed limit is enough to reduce the number of accidents and force drivers not to exceed their speed. One point that should be considered is that maybe drivers are not enough talent to take the control of their cars or perhaps they have not passed strict rules in order to learn driving. In this case the number of accidents will increase significantly. It is also important to say that patrol report might not be reliable. In fact, there is possibility that drivers are not informed from speed limit or perhaps there is not any speed table for drivers to know safety speed in the highway.

The author also attributes that prunty county should develop its roads same as butler county which conducted five years ago, such as resurfacing, improving visibility and so forth. However, it might seems tenable at face, it has some detects due to the paucity of evidence, that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe there were completely different situation in butler county five years ago. As a matter of fact, the author do not provide any evidence that to the extent the number of accidents decrease. Alongside that, there is possibility that Butler County's highway had terrible condition and they decided to repair it not to diminish the number of accidents.

Finally, as set forth by the author butler roads have still 55mph speed limit and based on report the number of accidents were lower in past recent years than five years ago. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if these two county have same situation. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the report could not be accurate or reliable. Indeed, there is possibility that majority of people have migrated from Butler County five years ago and now the number of population decrease over five years. So, this can lead to fewer accidents in the roads. Moreover, perhaps the roads in Butler County have improved during five years such as width, lane, visibility and so forth, rather than Prunty County.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.