In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The Prunty County recommends the road improvement in order to reduce the number of accidents at highways. To support the claim, it points out to some evidences such as similar steps implement in Butler had reduced the accidents by 25 per cent and restrictions on speed limit that was put on last year have failed. Here, the author’s chain of reasoning seems true at first sight, however, it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions about similarity between Prunty and Butler. Therefore, in order to better evaluate the argument and analyse its logical soundness, additional evidences are required that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

First, are Prunty and Butler comparable? In other words, the author has assumed that Butler and Prunty are similar in nature, thus, the obtained results in Butler would replicate in Prunty as well. However, it may be the case that Prunty and Butler are different, such as in last 5 years significant reduction was witnessed in the population of Butler because of exodus of people in search of jobs and employment to other locations, thus, reduced the people on road and consequently less accidents. But, Prunty may be a location where people come to settle in since it may be an economic hub. Further, Prunty may be a tourist location where people would like to travel to and these people by being come from different regions/countries may not aware of traffic guidelines, thus, causing higher number of accidents. Whereas, Butler may be a location where no tourist attraction is extant, thus even people of Butler go to other locations on vacations, thus, making it population even smaller and consequent reduction in accidents. Therefore, without considering these details, the recommendation remains unsupported.

Secondly, are roads responsible for accidents? In other words, the author has assumed that road conditions are such that they are responsible for higher number of accidents in Prunty. However, it may find that highway lanes in Prunty are wider than any other lanes of any County and thus, people riding cars and bikes are believed not to have made any complain or request regarding the width of highways. Further, it may also find that Prunty County spends significant amount of its budget on maintaining road conditions, thus, its roads are found to be smooth and well paved and its highways do not have any dangerous interactions but long straight roads and on minor intersection, it has deployed high frequency signals and lights of high intensity to provide the indication to the driver for the intersections ahead. Therefore, without knowing the current status of roads of Prunty, the proposal of road improvement project cannot be considered accurately to prevent accidents.

Finally, are drivers and riders follow traffic rules and proceed cautiously? In other words, the author has assumed that drivers and riders in Prunty are cautious drivers and they follow traffic rules, thus, not responsible for accidents, but the condition of roads are attributed to accidents. However, it may find that Prunty is a tourist location where the tourist keep arriving throughout the whole year, thus by being a citizen of another County or Country, they may not be aware of the traffic guidelines and rules such as to drive left side or right side, thus a major contributing factor in accidents. Further, it may also find that the natives of Prunty are flouting the rules bluntly as mentioned in the prompt that speed restrictions failed to produce any desired results and it may be County where patrol officers are corrupt, thus people are playing with traffic rules as per their will and are responsible for accidents. Therefore, unless the recommendation cover these details, it cannot be used to support the argument.

In conclusion, with lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the recommendation as it stands now, is unpersuasive. If the author is able to offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of research study covering the type of location Prunty is, manner of patrol officer in enforcing the law, tourist preferences to come to this location and propriety of natives of Prunty to abide by the traffic laws, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.