"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing hold the belief that by reducing the working hours of each work shift, their workers can get adequate sleep and the number of the accidents can be reduced. A number of assumptions about the cause of fewer accidents in Panoply, the links between fatigue, less sleeping time and fewer accidents should be reexamined in order to evaluate the assumptions proposed by the vice president.

First and foremost, the vice presidents point out that there are fewer accidents in Panoply because of the fact that their working time is one hour less than ours. On the contrary, there is possibility that there are simply much fewer employees in Panoply so that there are fewer accidents happened. Besides, maybe the labors in Panoply are both simpler and less dangerous than those in Quiot Manufacturing. Thus, if these reason that I mentioned above cause the gap between these two factories’ accidents, the proposal to reduce working hours will not help to reduce the accidents.

In addition, there are other factors that can affect the possibility that the accidents may happen. For example, because of the heavier working pressure, the workers in Quiot Manufacturing have the habits to have some rest when the job is finished like go to the Karaoke or just have some parties, which is very exhausting and will affect the performance in the working time. Furthermore, some workers may have to do some part-time jobs because of the salary. But if the workers in Panoply do not have these kinds of problems, workers’ performance will be better and less accidents will be happened.

Finally, there is possibility that the workers in Quiot Manufacturing are less qualified than those in Panoply. For one thing, because of the lower salary in Quiot Manufacturing, those elite workers will apply the jobs in Panoply instead of those in Quiot Manufacturing. For another, due to the less investments, Quiot Manufacturing offer less training about the safety about how to protect themselves when something unnecessary happens and how to operate the machines. The proposal by the vice president will not take effect if the reasons I mentioned above really exist.

In a nutshell, Despite the decent intention of the vice president, we need more information to determine whether this proposal can actually work or is counterproductive. We have to collect the information I mentioned above to evaluate the proposal.