The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The stated argument written by Dr. Karp consists of various fallacious stated and unstated assumptions starting from claiming Dr. Fields research is invalid and ending with saying interview centered method approach is accurate.

Dr. Karp claims that Dr. Field research conclusion is invalid on observations made on children of Tertian about 20 years ago because now people speak more about their biological parents than about other villages in village. But, when Dr. Field had researched 20 years ago there may be situation children reared by village people. There is no proof stating 20 years ago also children spoke about their biological parents.

Dr. Karp conducts research on group of islands where as Dr. Field conducts only on children in Tertian. There may be difference in results conducted between group of islands and Tertian Island. They need not to be same.

Also, just because children speak much more time, it doesn’t inference they are not reared by village people. Also, indicating much more time without proper statistics would be very vague.

Dr. Karp makes assumption that Dr. Field has done observation centered approach in studying cultures. Just because Dr. Fields conclusion is invalid it may not infer that Observation centered approach is invalid. Also, Dr. Karp states that interview centered method gives much accurate result but he fails to provide how is that method efficient. Instead, he leaves conclusion very vague.