The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Punishing for their wrong activities is a part of teaching. I disagree with the statement that just by praising positive actions and ignoring negative actions we can teach a particular person. Teaching is a service to the society in which deviated person is shown a right path. To align a person in right path making him realize about his negative ones play a prominent role.

By law, any person who is involved in criminal activity will go to jail or punished in some other way. This act is to make him realize about his wrong doing and become a gift for society. If such criminals had been neglected, they would become bane for this society. Here jurisdiction acts as a teacher and make criminals learn about their mistakes.

Sins must be punished. For another instance, there are many epics originated from our ancestors in which evil is always destroyed by good. Though there are many interpretations about the evil character and about his positive sides like Ravan in Ramayan and Duryodhan in Mahabharat, they are finally punished for their sins. Thus our ancestors have shown the way that for every evil action performed, there should be a response of rectifying mistakes and punishing for that.

As a teacher, he should recognize positive elements in every person and praise them. Meanwhile, he should also rectify their negatives and make them take a right path. Being optimistic doesn’t mean ignore negative ones. Thus, to teach we should not look at only positive ones and ignore negative ones , instead make them well known of their mistakes and give a chance to make their mistakes or negatives right.