"The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation shouldn't be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith,the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary,there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population."" -

Write a response in which you examine the started and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is fallacious on numerous aspects which makes numerous stated and unstated assumptions starting from considering development leading to disastrous consequenses and concluding by assumption no benefit to their community or sanctury.

Firstly, argument says Smith corporation propsed development can cause disastrous consequesnces. There are chances that community members in the name of Environmental group , they are trying to target Smith corporation. It is mentioned that a small part of land is being given to Smith Corporation, it is not explained how it can cause disastrous effects? Disastrous is a kind of extreme word to use before getting into practical development stages. Argument states that company tries to build a small hotel on the land. Also, it says sanctuary hosts for 300 bird species, then how will that be related. Instead having a hotel may evntually help few bird species. Bird species may get into habit of accessing hotel for food resources and shelter.

Argument assumes too extreme that Smith corporation plans will harm the sanctuary. But there are no valid reasons anywhere in the argument. As said earlier, there are chances a group of residents have planned to sign a petition in the name of Environmental protection group. There may be some competition these Smith Corporation plans may raise in terms of business. For example, as said Smith Corporation are trying to open a hotel in the land alloted. But this action may challenge already build hotels in sanctuary for tourists thus there are chances of competition arising. Also, there may be some illegal activities going on by the community people within the bird sanctuary. It may be difficult for them to continue if Smith corporation get inside sanctuary.

Finally, there is a huge assumption that Simth corporation doesn't help the local community people if they develop the intended plan. It is also been said that sanctuary is maily visited by tourists. Developing a small land as a hotel surely would help tourists. It may also help local community in basic needs. There may be lack of tourists because of insufficient facilities within the sanctuary, which will get resolved if Smith corporation develpos the land. Inturn there would be new competition arise and would improve facilities within the sanctuary. Thus helping their community to involve positively in outer world too.

To summarize, the argument lacks numerous points to prove the conclusion it derives. It is made up of numerous assumptions, both stated and unstated which eventually proves argument as insufficient information to conclude.