"The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

"The Smith Corporation shouldn't be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith,the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary,there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population."" -

Write a response in which you examine the started and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, particular petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group is stated. In this petition, environmental protection group is protesting about not to develop land of sanctuary because community of that area is relying on tourist, who wants to see that bird sanctuary. Environmental group is trying for saving environment, this is good but there are certain assumption present in this petition which is weakening the argument.

Here, in petition it is mentioned that particular sanctuary is owned by Youngtown wildlife preserves. And arguing that smith corporation should not give this land for developing it. An environmental protection cannot oppose to this situation, because there is no mention that smith corporation will cultivate the trees. Smith Corporation may develop the land and will have positive impact on tourism. In this part there is assumption made by environmental protection group that this will spoil the sanctuary.

There is another assumption. Here, small part of the sanctuary is given to Smith Corporation and environmental protection group is claiming that it will have disastrous consequence for our area. This assumption should be clarified with smith corporation that how they are planning to develop it? If there is bad impact of their decision, then only they should protest.

Another assumption is about building of hotel will harm the sanctuary and life of that area's community. This area's community is relying on tourism. And hotel is best way to attract tourism because it will ensure pursuit of tourist. Smith Corporation is also ensuring the preservation of sanctuary. In this case Smith Corporation is right. If there is another problem about harming the sanctuary, then it must be discussed. Primary focus of tourist is to see bird sanctuary but idea of making hotel will not lose the tourism. Otherwise, hotel will attract more tourism and will help economically to that area's community.