The following appeared in the editorial section of a corporate newsletter:

“The common notion that workers are generally apathetic about management issues is false, or at least outdated: a recently published survey indicates that 79 percent of the nearly 1,200 workers who responded to survey questionnaires expressed a high level of interest in the topics of corporate restructuring and redesign of benefits programs.”

Discuss how logically convincing you find this argument. In explaining your point of view, be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. Also discuss what, if anything, would make the argument more sound and persuasive, or would help you to better evaluate its conclusion.

The argument claims that a recent survey shows that the most of the workers are highly interested in the management issues. Stated in this way, the statement fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The argument relies on unstated assumptions and unreliable logic. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the most of the employees answered the survey questions. This is problem and not substantiated. What if the number of total workers surveyed is over 1,000,000, but only 1,200 people have answered? In this case, the survey is not able to draw its conclusion since the result of the investigation does not stand for a general view of the employees. Moreover, it could infer that still the majority of the workers are not interested in management because they even do not participate the survey about the management. The argument could have been much clearer if the author provided the information that most of the workers asked to enroll in the survey had participated with great interest.

Second, the argument claims that the workers are surely interested in management affairs while they are asked about corporation restructure and redesign of benefit programs. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the general management and the change of the management are totally different topics. The change of the company's structure and benefit programs would have direct impact on all workers, while general management probably does not have such influence. If the author had explicitly shown directly in the survey that the workers also have interests in the general management of the company, the argument could have been strengthened even further.

In conclusion, the argument is neither persuasive nor well-reasoned for the reasons above. If the statement provided more comprehensive perspectives as mentioned in the essay, it could have considerably been strengthened and not sound more of wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. Without this information, the argument remains problematic and open to debates.