The following appeared in a memorandum to the work-group supervisors of the GBS Company:

“The CoffeeCart beverage and food service located in the lobby of our main office building is not earning enough in

sales to cover its costs, and so the cart may discontinue operating at GBS. Given the low staff morale, as evidenced

by the increase in the number of employees leaving the company, the loss of this service could present a problem,

especially since the staff morale questionnaire showed widespread dissatisfaction with the snack machines.

Therefore, supervisors should remind the employees in their group to patronize the cart—after all, it was leased for

their convenience so that they would not have to walk over to the cafeteria on breaks.”

The argument claims that CoffeeCart neither provides satisfactory beverage and food service, nor profitable, and thus, the supervisor of the GBS company suggest to stop the service of Coffee Cart. The author states that the loss the service could become a problem since the rising number of employees leave the company and less people use the service. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several important factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The statement relies on unstated assumptions and unreliable logic. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the loss occurred by the CoffeeCart service would be a loss of the company. According to the passage, the profit of selling beverage and food seems the main purpose of the CoffeeCart. However, the statement is problematic and not substantiated. Even though the snack machine does no provides economic profit to the company, it could provide an improved environment for the employees to have a break. For example, the workers of the company could increase their work efficiency after they enjoy the snacks and coffee. In this case, the profit from the improved work speed would help GBS Company earn more money to cover the cost of the loss of the CoffeeCart. Without stating the fact, the argument lacks the proof that removing the snack machine would benefit the company. It could have been much clearer if the argument provided the evidence that the CoffeeCart does not improve any efficiency of the work of the employees.

Second, the argument claims that the staff morale questionnaire showed widespread dissatisfaction with the service of the machine, suggesting that removing the CoffeeCart is reasonable. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not state any correlation between the will of the company employees to stop using the machine and their dissatisfaction of the machine. Employees may want to improve the quality of the snacks sold on CoffeeCart, but not stop using it. Employees of the company prefer enjoying inferior snack service rather than not using any food service at all. If the argument had provided the survey result showing that the employees do not want to use the CoffeeCart service, the argument could have been strengthened even further.

To sum up, the argument is neither persuasive nor well-reasoned, failing to mention key factors mentioned above. If the author had provided more comprehensive perspectives as mentioned in the essay, the argument could have been considerably strengthened. Without this information, the argument remains problematic and unconvincing.