The following appeared in a letter from a department chairperson to the president of Pierce University. "Some studies conducted by Bronston College, which is also located in a small town, reveal that both male and female professors are happier living in small towns when their spouses are also employed in the same geographic area. Therefore, in the interest of attracting the most gifted teachers and researchers to our faculty and improving the morale of our entire staff, we at Pierce University should offer employment to the spouse of each new faculty member we hire. Although we cannot expect all offers to be accepted or to be viewed as an ideal job offer, the money invested in this effort will clearly be well spent because, if their spouses have a chance of employment, new professors will be more likely to accept our offers. " Discuss how well reasoned you find this argument.

The argument states that the Pierce University would be attractive for the most gifted professors if the university offers employment to the spouses of new professors. The article seems well presented, but is actually poorly reasoned. The statement is relied on unstated assumptions and unreliable logics as shown in the following essay.

First, The assumption which the argument is based on is that the most gifted teachers and researchers value the policy of Pierce University offering jobs to the spouses of new professors. However, what Pierce University offers to the new professors may be a slightly better warfare to the faculties, but may not be a prior concern for those gifted professors. These professors may value the other factors more in choosing the university they will work for, such as the fame of the university, facility conditions, and neighborhood. If this is the case, the money Pierce University spent on the policy should be spent on other aspects that the talented teachers and researchers really concern.

Second, the chairperson who suggested the policy misunderstood the studies conducted by Bronston College. The studies do state that professors in small towns are happier working with their spouse in the same geographic area, but it does not mean that the professors prefer working with the spouses in the same university. Some professors or their spouses may want to work in places different from their partners. These people may want their privacy in terms of their work. Thus, the logic behind the suggestion is not reliable.

Despite the contradictions mentioned above, there is another important error in this argument. While the ultimate purpose of the suggestion is to make Pierce University attractable for the gifted teachers and researchers, the merit of offering employment to the spouses is only applicable for the "new" professors. There is nothing mentioned that is favorable to the gifted professors who are already working in the university. If the suggestion in the letter puts into practice, those talented professors can not benefit from it and may leave the university feeling that they are disrespected by the university.

To sum up, the argument that offering employment to the spouses of new professors would attract gifted teachers and researchers to the university is not well reasoned nor persuasive. The policy would sound better if the argument considered more perspectives as mentioned in the essay.