The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine.

"The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were very financially successful."

The argument claims that the movie 3003 will maximize the profit of the producers if Robin Good stars in it. The magazine claims that paying several million dollars to Robin Good is reasonable since he will make the movie successful as other movies he has participated in. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The statement relies on an unstated assumption that the appearance of Robin Good in the movie is the key factor of financial success and unreliable logic that several million dollars is worth paying him for this movie. Hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing and not well reasoned.

First, the argument readily assumes that the movie would be a great success if Robin Good acts in it, since the other movies where Robin has been in were very financially successful. This assumption is problematic and not substantiated. Stated in the passage, it seems that Robin Good is the only factor that determine the success of the movie. However, there could be other more important factors that can influence financial success of the movie, such as sufficient budget for the movie production, director of the movie, and economic environment for the movie market. If other movies that Robin Good has starred in meet these requirements but the movie 3003 does not, the financial success is hard to assure this time. The argument could have been much more reasonable if it explicitly stated that why the movie would be successful if Robin Good stars in it.

Second, the argument claims that the producers of the movie 3003 should pay several million dollars to Robin Good to cast Robin Good him since he was paid a similar amount to work in the other successful movies. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the statement never mention that whether Robin would do the similar job in the movie 3003 as in other financially successful movies. For example, if Robin is only required to show up only few scenes in the movie 3003 while he had acted most part of the film in other movies, it would not be reasonable to pay him millions of dollars to him this time. The author should have provided work load for Robin Good in the movie 3003 compared to that of his other movies to strenghten the reason for such enormous payment.

In conclusion, the argument fails to explicitly illustrate neither why the movie 3003 would be financially successful if Robin Good acts in the movie, nor whether Robin is worth millions of dollars for the movie. If the argument answered to the questions raised in the above essay providing several specific examples, it could be much more convincing and persuasive.