The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine.

"The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it ? even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were very financially successful."

The argument asserts that the producer of movie 3003 can maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good millions of dollars to star in the movie. Stated in this way, the statement fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The argument relies on unstated assumptions and unreliable logic. Hence, the assertion of the passage is weak, unconvincing and not well reasoned.

First, the argument readily assumes that whether Robin Good is the most important factor for the financial success of the movie 3003. However, This assumption is problematic and not substantiated. There could be other more critical factors that determine the success of the movie, such as financial budget for the movie, the successful director, and overall demand for the recent movie market. In this case, the producers may not have to spend tremendous money on a single actor, but rather invest the money to other more important aspects. Moreover, the argument does not illustrate whether Robin Good is suitable for the genre of the movie 3003. If movie 3003 is an action movie, but Robin Good has only acted in romantic movies, it would be a gamble for the producers to enroll him in the movie production. Therefore, Robin Good may not be a key factor for the success of the film. The argument could have been much more reasonable if it explicitly explained why Robin Good is so important for this movie.

Second, the argument claims that several million dollars is worth paying Robin Good for the movie. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the statement does not provide any information about the work he would do. Althought the author of the magazine says that Robin Good was paid a similar amount to work in some other successful films, it may not be reasonable to pay him such tremendous dollars if he only appears few minutes in this movie while he acted the most part of the other movies. It the author had provided any reason for the producers to pay Robin Good for the amount of money, the argument would have been strengthened even further.

In conclusion, the argument fails to mention neither whether Robin Good is the key factor for financial succeess of the movie 3003, nor present sound reason to pay him millions of dollars to him for the movie, and thus, the conclusion of the passage is called into question. If the article answered the question raised above, it could have considerably strengthened the claim of the argument.