The following appeared as part of a column in a popular entertainment magazine. "The producers of the forthcoming movie 3003 will be most likely to maximize their profits if they are willing to pay Robin Good several million dollars to star in it ? even though that amount is far more than any other person involved with the movie will make. After all, Robin has in the past been paid a similar amount to work in several films that were very financially successful."

The argument claims that the movie 3003 will maximize the profit of the producers if Robin Good stars in the movie. The magazine claims that paying several million dollars to Robin Good is worthy since he will make the movie successful as other movies he has participated in. However, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The statement relies on unstated assumptions and unreliable logic. Hence, the argument is weak, unconvincing, and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily assumes that the movie would be a great success if Robin Good acts in it, since the other movies where Robin has been in were very successful financially. The statement is problematic and not substantiated. There could be other more important factors that can influence financial success of movies, such as the budget of the movie manufacture, director of the movie, and economic environment for the movie market. Stated in the passage, it seems that Robin Good is the only factor that decide the succees of the movie. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that why the movie would be successful if Robin Good star in it.

Second, the argument claims that the producers of the movie 3003 should pay several millison dollars to Robin Good to cast Robin Good since he was paid a similar amount to work in the other successful movies. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as the statement does not state that whether Robin would do the similar job in the movie 3003. For instance, if Robin was paid several million dollars not only to act in other movies, but also to be enrolled in the overall process of movie production, it would be not reasonable to pay him similar amount of money to only act in a few scenes in the movie this time. The author of the passage should have provided more detail of the work of Robin Good in the movie to strengthen the claim of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument fails to explicitly illustrate neither why the movie 3003 would be successful financially if Robin Good acts in the movie, nor whether Robin is worth to be paid millions of dollars to star in it. If the argument answered to the questions raised in the above essay with specific examples, it could be much more convincing and persuasive.