The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.
"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our deluxe alpaca overcoats.
Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for
five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand.
Also, since the price of most types of clothing has risen in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay
significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."
The new vice president of Sartorian claims that resuming production of,once discontinued,alpaca overcoat will now act as a "CASH COW" ,since there are no major
competitiors. The argument is flawed for numerous reasons.
Firstly, the vice president does not provide any evidence regarding the new fabric supplier. Whether the supplier provides high quality wool fabric is not explained.
The problem for discontinuing five years ago may be,perhaps,beyond supplier support and may not be reliable even today.Besides, without evidence to the contrary it is entirely possible that
Sartorian's new supplier will turn out to be unreliable and to be blameworthy for that unreliability.
Secondly,the vice president does not provide any evidence whether alpaca coat is still popular among customers. Since all its competitors no longer make alpaca coat,
it can be assumed that people have lost interest in alpaca coat and have started buying new,perhaps better quality coats. Because major competitors have opted out from
making alpaca coats does not indicate there will be increased customer demands. Customers predilections change from time to time.Customers may have lost interest in alpaca coats
and hence other clothing manufactures have moved onto making different and more creative products to meet customer demands.
Finally, even if vice president can substantiate the foregoing propositions,the argument relies on additional assumption that customers will be willing to pay
significantly higher prices for alpaca coats than they did five years ago.Rise is prices of most types of clothings does not indicate that alpaca coats will attract large
prices. May be other clothing involve higher production costs compared to alpaca coats and hence have increased prices.Establishing proportionality between other clothing and
alpaca coat without proper facts and evidences will turn out to be specious. Even if customers are willing to pay more for alpaca coats five years ago does not indicate
company profits will increase.May be only few customers are willing to pay more than previous price. Unless these values are quantified,it becomes significantly difficult
to conform the vice president's argument.
Finally, even if Sartorian would turn a profit from the sale of its alpaca coats, the memo's claim that the company's overall profits would increase thereby is unwarranted.
Sartorian's overall profitability is a function of revenue and expenses relating to all of Sartorian's products. Since the memo provides no evidence that Sartorian
will continue to be profitable in other respects, it is difficult to take the vice president's argument seriously.
Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions,it fails to make a convincing case.