A gift can contribute to child's development.What gift do you prefer?

Gifts play a major role in a child's development.I prefer to gift children,books for plethora of reasons.However, I believe that

if children read only books monotonously without applying what they read results in a vital problem.

I belive books are best gifts. Firstly, books are extensive sources of information.A child can learn and develop variety of skills just by studying books.

For example, reading novels not only instils a sense of imagination in the mind of children, but also enhances the command they have over the language.

Books turn enthusiastic readers into authors. They encourage children to write stories using their creativity and imagination.

For instance, my friend was fond of novels right from his childhood and started writing short stories and poems at age of twelve. Today, he is one among the renowned playwright in my city.

Secondly, books cover wide variety of topics. Right from any small issue in politics to major rule changes in sports, books include even the finer details.

Pampa, a famous Kannada poet had quoted," Reading books is equivalent to travelling the entire world". To elaborate, he suggested that since books include all topics 'under the sky',

reading books alone is equivalent to travelling around the world.

Even though, reading books have lot of advantages, mere reading may not result in all round development of children. There are high chances that children may become introverts without any practical experiences.

This is detrimental to the society, as today's children are tomorrow's citizens. Hence, it is quite essential for children to apply whatever they read so that they can develop social and political skills.

It is required to strike perfect balance between reading books, appreciate what is being written and try to inculcate those aspects in daily life.

In a nutshell, I believe gifting books has many advantages, as they are exhaustive resources and include information related to all facets of life which inturn leads to overall development of a child.

Contrary to this if children read only books without taking into account of outside world, it is highly likely that they can become introverts and therefore, avoid social interactions