The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

“To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.”

In the memo, it is stated that the listener of current rock-music format is declining. The author has come to this conclusion on the basis of the growth of the retirement people.Although at first glance, the author's recommendation appears to be somewhat convincing, but we still need further evidence to make the conclusion.

To begin with, the author's claim relies on the evidence that the growth of the people which are mainly moving here after their retirement. It is possible that the old people do not like rock music.However, there is no evidence to prove the decline in listener numbers. A correlation between decline in listener numbers and growth of elder people dose not necessarily infer casual relation. It is entirely possible that there are some other important factors contributing to decline in listener numbers ,such us young people move to the urban city.

Furthermore,The author underline they must make a switch to the new residents’ taste.However, we need more evidence of the new residents’ taste.A survey must be conducted throughout the new residents asking them the change of WWAC radio station.It is possible that people do not listen to radio nowadays.Instead of listening to radio, people prefer to use Youtube or Spotify.For example, few people in Taiwan listen to radio, most of the elder people prefer to watch talk show on TV.The radio is never in their choice.

Additionally, the author was so confident of a news and talk format.The argument assumes that people who love this kind of radio will also love to listen at WWAC radio station.

Even thought a form of radio that is increasingly popular in the area. However, it is still a question that the new format can reverse a decline in listener numbers.For example, people who enjoy news and talk format radio in Taiwan are usually listen to one host, and they are not interested in other one ,which means they are loyal to a specific host.It may be difficult for new talk radio to emerge.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation as it stands now is full of flaws due to lack of the evidence. If the author is able to provide more reliable data for the above argument and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to reverse a decline in listener numbers.