The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The claims made by the owner of the Movie Galore is based on several ungrounded assumptions. There are several fallacies to the argument and the reasoning is not sound. The owner's claim about increasing profit is made on the basis of incomplete research and following questions need to be answered before the validity of the argument is ensured.

Firstly, the owner claims that operating costs be reduce to increase profits but there not enough data is provided to support this claim. What is the operating cost in comparison to other expenses and the profit itself? If the operating cost is negligible in comparison to other costs, the increase in profit may be insignificant.

The claim can also be assailed on the basis of video renting population and it's popularity. Has the population of people renting video decreased? Or has the popularity of video ranting changed? If so, how? Have people been busy and have no time to rent a video? These questions need to be answered so that precise reasons for the decrease in profit is figured out.

Also, the owner believes that the environment is same across all ten outlets of Movie Galore and similar procedure can be followed to ameliorate the situation. However, no evidence is put forward supporting this assertion. Is all ten stores all similar in location, size, popularity? If the answer is no, it seriously undermines the owner's claim.

The owner seems to have done no research about the competition. Are there any other movie renting stores that provides better service? Have the movie theaters reduced their prices such that people prefer going to theater than renting a video? These topics should be rigorously researched before reaching the conclusion that operating costs are the reasons for decreased profit.

Thus, several unanswered questions render the claim made by owner fallacious and dubious. To be absolutely certain to increase profit, the above topics should be studied in detail and questions raising reservations should be answered.