The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation.

The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings.

Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence).

The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

The excerpt of the letter to the editor of scientific journal is claiming that there is a causal relationship between the birth order and production of stimulation hormones in rhesus monkey. Based on this claim of a study, the implications are believed to be applicable to humans as well. The prerogative seems plausible but there are certain ambiguities that make a reader skeptical.

Firstly, the whole argument is based on a study that has a sample size of only eighteen. This makes the generalization of its results dubious. A better reference could have been some study that encompasses a wider population segment of rhesus monkeys in order to make the inferences statistically significant.

Secondly, the argument that the higher order of birth means that there is higher production of hormone cortisol needs more comprehensive evidence. There are other factors ignored in the text that might cause increased stimulation. For instance, gender, age or the environment are few of the basic variables that can influence the stimulation behavior and thus are imperative to consider while discussing the role of order of birth in increased activity level.

Thirdly, the claim that first born humans also produce relatively higher level of cortisol when subject to some stimulating scenario lacks evidence. There is no statistic or past literature provided to support this statement. Some previous study that can relate the birth order with stimulation in humans could have helped the validity of this statement. Also, if the evidence regarding monkeys is to be taken as supporting the claim related to humans then the reader would want to know the correlation between humans and monkey.

Lastly, if the hormone being discussed is found to be in greater proportion among first time mothers, this means that these mothers are exhibiting higher stimulus to such situations. And as a result of this, their offspring are carrying this behavior with them. There is however, no ample evidence provided that offspring’s carry the similar level of hormones as that of mothers. Also, the argument is weakened by lack of empirical evidence such as some previous study or sample results.

Therefore, if the argument needs validation, it needs to be accompanied by strong evidence, both empirical and factual. A more holistic approach to such a claim by discussing other factors would be helpful in making the claim stronger.