The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation is given by committee, planning a ten year budget of the city Calatrava stated that, the birth rate is decreasing drastically and because of this city may decrease the budget for education and athletic and other recreational purpose. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, the enrollment in public school is decreasing because of decreasing public school? It is possible that, because of merit based selection process in the public school some children did not get admission in the public school if we consider that, in the future decreasing number of children, all of the children get admission and also possible that quality of education in public may be increases. if either of this scenarios has merit then the original argument are weakened.

Secondly, do in future the cost of education is not changing ? here the committee member is prematurely assumed that, the city do not required the more budget than last year because of decrease in birth rate. perhaps, the cost of education is increasing to year-to-year. if this is case then maybe the idea of lowering budget is going to trouble for city governance. if above argument is true, then recommendation does not hold water.

Thirdly, do the child not playing athlete in future? The committee member stated that, city should reduce the funding of athletic playing field and for recreational activity. but the athletic field is use by children as well as adult in day-to-day life. If city reduce the funding of athletic and residence demanding the improvement in playing field then recommendation given by argument is weakened.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is flawed due to the unwarranted assumptions. If committee will give the answers of above three questions and study (research) and survey about city resident demand then it is will possible to evaluate the given recommendation.