The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The study stating that the headache suffered by residents of Mentia has declined after using salicylates bythe food processing companies may seem plausible at first glance, but the argument rests on unwarranted assumptions and is rife with fallacies that need further clarity.

First, the scope and validity of the survey linking increase in use of salicylates and decline in headache to be questioned. How much reduction in pain did they feel? More quantitative date is needed to precisely determine the extent to which the change was observed. Also the standard to which it was compared is also not clearly stated. Moreover, If the participants are those who do not suffer a severe headache or if they are people from the control group of the study then the survey resuts will be skewed. It is also possible that the decline of headaches might be the caused by other medications taken by particpants.

Second, the time duration of study is twenty years. It is possible that the scenario during the start of study and after 20 years might not be the same. For example, if 100 people suffered from headche 20 years back,some might have changed their lifestyle or were on other medication to reduce it. If they take part in a study after 20 years, the results will be biased.

It is highly likely that the salicylates on it's own is not very potential in management of headache like aspirin because the compound was not tested for it's property in isolation. It is possible that they interacted with other compounds in the food product. Another likely scenario is that the effectiveness of salicylates were gradually accumulated for 20 years. Thus if this is true it might take another 20 years for it to show major effect.

Lastly, the claim that the addition of salicylates as flavouring agent will further reduce the incident of headache is very vague. The concentration used for preservatives and flavoring agent may differ and it is possible that salicylates have a threshold concentration to show its potency. Then the argument is rendered futile. The other way round is also possible, if the salicylates in the form of preservatives and flavoring agents show antagonistic property then the effect will be nullified. Thus firmly concluding that this new use will reduce the occurrences of headaches suffered by an average citizen is difficult.

In summary, the author's argument is not entirely invalid, but had he/she considered the aforementioned points, it would help to buttress his/her claim. Thus careful analysis of survey and data is required.