The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students

Here, the given argument prompt is saying that Kensington Academy has given the responsibility of its cafeteria to a company named Swift Nutrition which serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that the students do not find enjoyable. So, swift should be replaced by another company otherwise there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students. At first sight, the argument seems quite logical and cogent. But, a close scrutiny reveals that it has used some assumptions that are not clear. Some things should be made clear to make the argument a valid one.

Firstly, the parent has mentioned his/her child and several of his friends complaining about the food given by Swift Nutrition.

But, the author cannot say that the few students mentioned are the proper representative of the whole students of the school. They may not like the food but there may be other students who love the food provided by Swift Nutrition. So, to make this point clear and to avoid the invalid generalization, a survey should be taken from most of the students of the school. Only then it will be right to say that most of the students like or dislike the food provided by the authority of the company. Otherwise, it does not make any sense to accuse the quality of the foods depending on a survey where a few students take part.

Secondly, the parent in her/his letter has mentioned that the company serves low-fat, low-calorie foods that students do not find enjoyable. But, how does the parent know that the low-fat, low-calorie foods don't taste good? Maybe his/her child and their friends are not used to eating that type of food at home and that is why they don't find them tasty. Maybe the other children are used to eat these type of foods at their home and they are finding the foods tasty and not complaining about the food. To make any decision about the taste of the foods the parent should give a detail report having the comparison of the taste of various low-fat, low-calorie and high-fat, high-calorie foods. Only then he/she can explicitly say that the low-calorie and low-fat food are not that much tasty compared to other foods in the market.

Thirdly, the parent has suggested to replace Swift with any other vendor in the market. But, what will be consequences of this? Maybe the other vendors in the market also serve low-fat and low-calorie food items. Maybe they are not as good as Swift or maybe the price of their foods are considerably high which the school cannot afford. Maybe the taste of the foods of the other vendors is worse than that of Swift. So, to validate this point, the parent should provide a detailed comparison of food quality vs price of the available vendors in the market. Only then it will be appropriate to say that any other vendor is better than Swift in terms of quality and price.

To conclude, we have already seen that the given argument prompt has a lot of loopholes in it. There are a lot of questions to be answered to make the argument convincing and clear.