The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons.Primarily, the argument is based on unwarranted assumption that if the students does not find the low fat, low calorie food enjoyable most of the student will not like this food and also the argument also makes another unwarranted assumption that the food that student will bring from their home is unhealthy, rendering its conclusion, if Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students, Invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that most of the students of the school will not like this low fat, low calorie food which is important to evaluate the argument.Yes the argument provides information that some of the students does not find this food enjoyable but that does not mean that a large portion of the students does not find this food enjoyable. It might be possible that only let us say 2 to 3 percent of student does not like this low fat, low calorie food enjoyable but most of the students enjoy this food and find it tasty. The argument would be more convincing if it had provided more information regarding what portion the students does not enjoy the food. Even then the argument had to provide further information about why there is no other options than replacing the vendor, it might be possible that making some changes in the food will make students to enjoy it which ultimately leads to healthier food.

The argument also leave many other unanswered questions, even if most of the students does not enjoy this food how can one assume that replacing the vendor will solve this problem. it might be possible that the new vendor will be more unhea

Finally, the argument assumes without warrant that if students bring their food instead of eating cafeteria food it is going to be less healthy. it might be possible that when student bring their own food insted of eating from cafeteria they will ask their parents to pack lunch for them which is going to more healthy than any cafeteria food.

Because the argument makes many unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make an convincing case that if Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for kensington students.