'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum from the business manager of a television station concludes that restoring the time previously devoted to weather and local news will prevent losing the revenues from advertsiement and attract more viewers to the program. To support his argument the manager provies the evidences like the complaints received from viewers concerning weather and local news, and decline in advertisements from local business. The author argument is potentially valid, however, the author should provide some further evidence to asses the validity of the argument and retain the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that more time has been devoted to national news and less time to weather and local news by the television station. It is possible that only two minutes is added which is potentially not a significant amount of time. It is also possible that major events were held during the past year which garnered the attention of the station to national news. It is possible that devoting more time to nation news and less time to weather and local news is a general trend and not any fluke. If any of these cases are true then argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the complaints received from viewers concerning station's coverage of weather and local news were significant. It is possibe that the number of complaints received were only 5 and 3 of them were complaints regarding weather and local news. The author fails to lucidly state wheather the complaints were from large number of viewers or the large number of complaints from single viewer. It is possible that only 1 people had complained multiple times. It is also possible that the concern of viewers regarding weather and local news was not pertaing to the length of news rather content of the news. If these are the case then argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author erroneously assumes that the decrease in the advertisement from loca business is due to the reduction in the time alloted for weather or local news. It is possible that the place is facing some economic recession and business are not doing well. It is possible that the television station has increased the contract amount for advertsiement which ultimately prevented small local businesses from advertising on the television station. Perhaps, a new television station has been stared in the town and the competition for advetisement has increased from the past. It is also possible that a popular radio station is advertising local businesses for free to promote local businesses and products and local business has started advertising on those radio stations. If any of these cases are true, then the argument is dramatically weakened.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide several evidences to evaluate the argument so the argument is not as persuasive as it sounds. The author should provide evidences like the exact statistics of number of complaint, numbers of viewers who complained, economic condition of that area, presence of any other television stations or radio stations etc. in order to subsatntiate his argument. If author provides all these evidences then his argument is strengthened and becomes persuasive as it intends.