The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

The memo from the business manager of a television station is clearly obstentious. It fails to derive the conclusion. No numerical or statistical approach can be seen in the memo. Lack of research and just implying based on certain general scenario has been done. When thinking of a change in any certain area at this high level it is must to go through the numbers, sentiment analysis, ratio and so on. At this high level change is consistent but not on baseless assumptions.

Firstly, it is mentioned about their late-night news program. It mentions the viewers news watching inclination towards national news and declination towards weather and local news. Due to this supporting it further, it has also mentioned about the complaints made by viewers for their station's decremental coverage of weather and local news. Nothing more is mentioned in the paragraph. The points required to strengthen these argument are : "Number of people complaining, Specific reason for this complaint, Since when they developed less likeliness towards local news and weather forecast".

These all were just assumptions that the people are preferring national news during late-light news program. There might me certain reasons like something interesting might be going on on the national level, which the people want to stay updated to and watch the various updates. During late-night while watching news they might not want to see the news of weather, rather want to see the fast 100 news of the day of the nation to save time and get all the information in just a matter of minutes. These various factors were not taken care of while coming towards a conclusion.

Secondly, it states that due to this various local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts. Seeing on the bigger fish, for the company it can also prove beneficial for them that rather than convincing local business owners they can wide apart their feet amidst this scenario. They got opportunity to charge much from the global and national business. Which are widespread all over the nation and charge them much for their advertisements during this late-night news program. Convoluting the change was just in their hands.

Thirdly, just keeping up to what was pristine they got a change for better change. If they would have shifted to the pristine track they might loose the viewers just because of very few complaints for the retainment of weather and local news. Nowadays weather can also be checked just by surfing on the phone. But for some spicy, entertaining, hot topic news of nation people still prefer news channel.

Hence concluding, it is clearly seen that the points in the memo were lookalike incomplete, baseless, not statistical. Just a general scenario was kept in mind for the change. While thinking of a big change these all factors should be analysed thoroughly.