The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author made a strong conclusion after giving some points. At first glance, the conclusion seems very tenable, however, after proper scrutinizing of the points the author gave, it shows that there are certain questions that needs to be answered.

First, the author made a point that people who enrolled in online degree programs by a nearby university increased by 50 percent. The author failed to let us know what the exact figure is. “50 percent” increase can be a high increment or a little, for instance, 1000 students to 1500 students is a notable increment, it can also mean increment from 3 to 6 student which is very negligible. Furthermore, does the author know exactly what Omni did to have increased number of students? Without answering the question of the exact amount of increment, the conclusion is flawed.

Secondly, the author pointed out the fact that expenditures for dormitory and classroom space reduced most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. Is the author certain that is the reason expenditure reduced? It could be that the school already has standard dormitory and there is no need to spend money again. Until the author answers the question about this, the point remains flawed.

Thirdly, the author also said enrolment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with the budget deficit. The author failed to let us know the reason the enrolment has failed to grow. Is the fees of the school too high? Does Humana produce good and reputable alumni? Is the standard education provided at Humana? Is the budget properly managed? There’re so many reasons that could cause Humana university not to grow and bad management of the budget. Without answer to these questions, the conclusion once again is flawed.

Finally, the author suggests that Humana University, should do the same thing that Omni university did to increase their student. It worked for Omni university, is the author certain that it is going to work for Humana University? Does Humana university meet all the prerequisite that Omni has, to grow? As it is now the conclusion is flawed and to make it stronger, answers to these questions has to be provided.