the following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of Monarch Books have recommended to open a café, which they concluded will attract more customers base than now. They need to answer some questions before recommending this.

Firstly, change in business plan model doesn't decrease the customer base? Despite, book store having large customer base ,there is no guarantee of future success. Changing business model might give negative outcome on customer number. Rating customer satisfaction helps to correlate changes with success or failure.

Secondly, discontinuing children section a wise move? there is possibility that this section is most visited section, many parents visit Monarch Books because of large availability of children book. Discontinuation has direct influence on the parents visiting this book store. This discontinuation is based on the national census report that the number of children below 10 is decreasing. Not all person in children section are necessarily children below 10. If this is true, then opening café to influence customer seems absurd.

Finally, Opening café based on opponent regal book store seems myopic. This Regal book might attract another base of customer. Without analyzing the similarity between these book stores, their type of customer base, idea of opening café seems unwise. there is probability customers aren't interested on drinking coffee, they visit this store because of its wide choice on books. They might start café only after analyzing needs and desires of customer instead of imitating another books store. If either of these has merit, then conclusion in original is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flaw due to several unwarranted assumption. if author is able to answer these above question and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to check feasibility of proposed recommendation to open a café.