The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the recommendation that Super Screen Movie Production Company should spend more money next year on public advertising in order to reach enough of its prospective viewers. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, we need to successfully address some additional questions which might lead to its possible flaws.

First and foremost, we need to ask did the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies really increase during the past year? The information does not reveal the sample size of the survey conducted in order to collect audience’s reviews. For example, it is very likely that the company only gathered the reviews from ten or twenty viewers, but the truth is that there were thousands or millions of viewers last year. Therefore, the survey could not really represent audience’s satisfaction towards movies. To sum up, if it were the case, the intermediate conclusion that viewers were satisfied with specific Super Screen movies would be seriously weakened.

In addition, another question we need to ask is that even the survey turned out to be authentic, does it necessarily mean that the quality of movies were good? It could turn out to be the case, for example, that the company only broadcasted those commercial films which did not contain too many meaningful things, and these movies only attracted a small group of audience such as young adults. Thus, they would no doubt make good remarks since the movies were truly intriguing to them. In short, if we were to learn that Super Screen might only attract a narrow group of people and let them make reviews, it would significantly weaken the conclusion.

Finally, we need to ask why less people did go to Super Screen last year? Was the reason really lack of public advertising? The mere evidence that the company did publish good movies does not necessarily mean that less viewers enjoyed movie in Super Screen due to the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality were available. Perhaps last year people were more likely to enjoy movies at home only only because they could download all films from the Internet but also because of the high prices of movies in Super Screen. Briefly, if it was the case, the final conclusion that reinforcing advertising would help to attract more audience would be less firm.

Clearly, then, some critical questions are waited to be answered before the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company safely reach the conclusion that it would be conducive for Super Screen to allocate a larger share of its budget to make more advertisement in order to attract the public.