The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Watching movies can be a great way to pass the time, socialize, and get to know the world around you. However, in recent history there have been many movie theaters as well as rental stores that have had issues with viewership; it seems as if there are less people going out to the movies or renting one nearby. One such entity, the Super Screen Movie Production Company, has seen a decline in attendance of their movies, which they claim in a memo that is a result of lack of public awareness. This memo contains a logical fallacy as it fails soundly connect these two points and ignores the context in which a different variable may be causing the low attendance. The following three questions must be answered in order to determine the true cause of Super Screen Movie Production Company’s issue.

The advent of streaming services have caused many to seek movies online and at home rather than visiting a store or going out to the theater. We have seen this with the once popular movie store “Blockbuster” closing most of its stores nationwide as well as local cinemas seeing fewer attendees. Even if Super Screen Movie Production Company were to devote more of its budget to advertising, the popularity of streaming movies would still have a hold on prospective viewers and they would not actually succeed in drawing in more customers. The company ought to ask themselves is streaming movies popular where this is an issue and how can they make themselves competitive with the rapidly growing popularity of streaming services?

Given the report from the marketing department at Super Screen Movie Production Company, the memo claims they had less attendance but more positive reviews. If there are less people attending their movies and more positive reviews, then that means that more people that like the company’s movies are attending rather than the general public and thus skewing the report. Is this report biased? The report ought to be recreated with a consistent number of participants. Since this report cannot be relied upon, then it is a possibility that movie quality is a significant issue and prospective viewers are aware of the movies, but believe them to not be well produced.

Even if public knowledge about Super Screen Movie Production Company is lacking and quality of their movies is high, there could be other factors that cause this lack of awareness. Are the movie screenings located in an inaccessible part of town where not many visitors can park their vehicles or visit with public transportation? Even if people wanted to go as a result of more advertising, perhaps they may not be able to even get there. In this case, more money would be better spent in accessibility with a parking lot or bus stop. Additionally, are the screenings of the movies at times of the day when the public is usually working, sleeping, or attending local events? Maybe there is a popular local sports team whose games are typically at the same time as the movie screenings. This case also shows that more money spent in advertising would not have much of an effect.

There are different reasons as to why movie viewership has decreased. Given that the report mentioned in the memo is flawed for the reason stated previously, the Super Screen Movie Production Company ought to review the context at which this issue has arisen and reevaluate other options besides advertising. The questions posed ought to be answered in order to gain more insight into the context of potential coexisting problems contributing to their lack of engagement.