The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In any argument, one cannot have an effective debate without proper communication. One element that is vital to proper communication is the ability to listen to the counter argument and respond to their issues. It is a fact that in the future, the children of today will be our leaders in industry, government, and throughout society. Given this, it is important that we as a society foster a sense of understanding and cooperation that allow our youth to lead effectively, while also allowing competition to prepare them for the realities of life.

Leadership in government requires immense cooperation. Lawmakers are constantly collaborating with people that have different beliefs and viewpoints from their own. Despite any differences that a given Senator or Congressperson may have, at the end of the day laws are passed by these same individuals. For this reason, cooperation is a keystone value that these leaders depend upon to do their jobs effectively.

Even if the youth of today are taught the importance of cooperation in leadership roles, this is not the only way that stuff gets done in the real world. Industry especially presents challenges to cooperation given the flexibility of hierarchy that can differ company to company. For example, while collaboration allows people to recognize each issue presented equally, competition allows any and all ideas be presented, which can allow for new processes and thought to take place. Additionally, competition prepares future leaders for the reality of society because in real life, cooperation is not always going to work and competition can oftentimes take its place.

While the private sector differs in many ways from government, the required leadership and core values remain similar. In order for any businessperson to provide their good or service to society, they will inevitably have to work with others (be it manufacturers, clients, the public, etc.) just as government leaders must work with each other to enact laws. There is room for competition in the private industry, but cooperation is unavoidable because of the nature of our society. Businesses are not run by as well as profiting from a single person; they can be run by one person, but they rely on collaboration and interest of others.

For these reasons, collaboration is necessary, but competition is realistic and unavoidable. Leaders in every aspect of society benefit from and depend upon clear communication and effective collaboration. Competition may allow for productivity in some aspects, such as private industry, but given the negativity that can arise from competition, collaboration remains the keystone to effective leadership. The young people of today, our future leaders, will benefit from these values just as we see our current leaders benefiting today.