Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In this argument, we are informed that after human habitant in Kaliko Island 7,000 years ago, most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forest of this island gradually reach extinction. Citing by archaeological discoveries, such as discarded fish bones as well stone knives, the author ascribe such extinction to excessive human hunting. Quite convincing though such explanation stays, it's somehow problematic to consider it as the unique explanation that accounts for the facts mentioned by the author in the passage. Therefore, we have to pore over other explanations, which could compete with the one proposed in the argument.

To start off, the author attribute the left fish bones to human fishing. While human fishing behaviors might result in such discarded bones, it's possible that they could spring from other factors. First of all, it is possible that the fish bones remain could trace back to the period when human habitants are still rare, even non-existent. If this is the case, human behavior seems to have no bearing on the fish bones leftover. Such remains could be explained as stemming from the natural death of fish and eventual deposit on this site. Second, while human resident actually corresponded with fishing habitant, the probability that other factors lead to such fishing bone could not be precluded. It is of equal probability that other animal could catch and eat fish and therefore contributed to such extermination. If such reasoning proves invalid, the argument of the author will be strengthened; otherwise, if Kaliko people seldom live via fishing hunting, the underline logic of the author would loss weights, namely: if people tend to hunt fish, they are likely to do hunting for other animals as well.

Additionally, the uncovered simple tools, like stone knives, seem to lend great credibility to support the assumption that human hunting exacerbated the diminishing of mammal species. However, such tools might not only serve for the stated purpose, but also for other potential usages. For example, such tools might be used by people for daily live recording; or people may use them for decoration purpose. Furthermore, they might be also used for protection again other animals. Therefore, without sufficient nt information, we can make decision which explanation would play more crucial role for such tools. Moreover, all of the presence of usage might conspire to the discovery of tools.

Last but not least, while both discarded fish bones and stone knives might add weights to emphasize huge impact of human activities for extinction result of mammal species, we have no clues that human hunting are able to reach such severe extent that directly cause extermination of various mammal species. Other factors might also heavily impact and engender such phenomenon. For example, climate weather that exceed the adaption ability of animals species, gradually scare food resources on which animals rely on, more aggressive species competence, all of those could trigger and accelerate the ultimate annihilation of animal species in this island.

To sum up, while we have to acknowledge for a moment that human behaviors exert great influence to nature, in the absence of adequate information, it's too hasty to draw conclusion that annihilation of animal species could be caused exclusively by such reason. The extermination of animal species in Kaliko island is such a case which need more explanations that could account for the facts presented in the passage, apart from the anthropogenic one.