Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The prompt concludes that the late-night news program will attract more customers and will not lose any more revenues on advertising if they go back to dedicating more time to weather and local news. They come to this conclusion since after switching to national news they received a lot of complaints regarding the channel's coverage of weather and local news and the advertising businesses that had a contract with the late-night news program have canceled it. This argument is not strong for two reasons.

We do not know if the viewers will come back to the program even after the program goes back to local and weather news. It is possible that when the viewers did not find the news that they hoped for on this late-night news program, they switched to a different one that satisfied their news needs. If this new program gives them the news they want and if the viewer starts liking it, they might stick with it. Thus, regardless of what the late-night news program does, they may not get their old viewers back. Since there is not enough evidence to conclude this, the argument is weak.

Similarly, the business partners might not come back as they might have found different news programs that wish to broadcast local and weather news. If they started a new contract with a different news program, they will not come back to the old late-night news program. If there are other businesses that are willing to start a contract with the late-night program, they will be able to increase their revenues. Thus, without information about the businesses, the argument is weak.

As per the lack of evidence shown above, the argument that the late-night news program will attract more viewers and advertising businesses in order to increase their revenue by going back to broadcasting local and weather news is weakened. Unless the business manager provides the required evidence, the argument is weak.