The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching plays an important role in shaping character and it is important that it is done in the right fashion. The prompt suggests that the best way to teach would be by praising positive actions and ignoring negative ones. I strongly agree with the given prompt for the following two reasons.

Often people get annoyed by the negative actions and grant the person whatever they need. This only makes the learning process worse as the action gets negatively reinforced. For instance, children often throw tantrums in the middle of a store when their parents refuse to buy them something they want. After denying a few times, parents get annoyed by the children and end up giving in and buying them what they want. Parents believe that if they buy them what they want, they will avoid the embarrassment. However, the children associate the negative action of throwing a tantrum with getting what they desire. Thus, here on, every time they want something, they throw a tantrum in the hopes on their parents giving in. Once a negative action is reinforced, it tends to get hard to change it. Instead, when negative actions are ignored, the person associates the action with not getting what the desire and will not do it again.

Praising people for their good actions makes them feel good about themselves and continue doing the good action in order to receive more praises. For example, when a student behaves in class and is praised by the professor for it in front of the entire class, the student feels the need to continue the action. The student believes that if they keep doing the good action, they will be praised again. They feel the need to live up to the expectation of the teacher. Thus, the good action sticks with them forever. Inculcating good behavior in this way tends to adhere with the person throughout their life. If good behavior is ignored, the person realizes that the behavior does not favor them in any way and do not see a point of continuing it. Because of this, it is important to praise the good action in order for it becomes a part of the persons personality.

Many people think that this way of teaching is not the most effective way. They believe that punishing negative behavior is a better approach for teaching. Especially when the behavior is causing someone else annoyance or embarrassment. However, reacting to negative behavior only makes it worse. Punishing behavior makes the children feel anger and makes them more probable to continue the behavior to annoy you. Punishing can also hurt peoples’ relationships. Given all the reasons above, it is very important to follow the right method for teaching positive actions. Praising positive behavior, no matter how futile it may seem, and ignoring negative behavior, regardless of how unreasonable it might sound, is the best way to teach people good behavior and to make sure that the behavior is entrenched through all the stages of their life.