Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The writer concludes that to instead of loosing further advertising revenue they should have more coverage of the weather and the local news program. However, the conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

Firstly, the writer assumes that they have started loosing the contract with the local buisness which were advertising in there channel has no clear affirmation. It may be possible that the local businesses are loosing contracy because it may have ended up there own advertising period in which they wish to advertise as per the company norms and regulation or they may have the gathered information that there company revenue is not as boosted as expected with the advertisment as they have projected or they may be finding it the rates of the advertisment is been high as compared to the other channel all these can be concluded when the author provide more statistical data.

In addition, the writer assumes that the user complaints for the more for the weather and the local news instead of the national news can not be concluded because writer didn’t provided enough data for it because people interest of news also depends upon the season for example if it’s monsoon people tends to look more for the weather because they may be already prepared if it’s going to rain heavily they may prefer goverment transport instead of the private vehicles because of lot of traffic issues. Similarly they are interested in the local news may be due to the election in the near by area or for the value of the market currently going on

Finally, the writer assumes that local advertisment are cancelling the contracts because the the advertisment done depends upon the age group itself for example the advertisment done for any dance classes or any sports classes may not be interested for working man to watch it because it has no root relation with it which makes viewer not satisfactory with the advertismnet and adverised company does not get enough revenue from it

In conclusion, this argument depends on certain simplified assumptions about whether or not they should forecast the local news and weather instead of the national news. The author could strengthen the argument by discussing other factors beyond the compalin and the advertismnet company before concluding that it may depend on multiple scenario to conclued writer dhould have provide enough data to draw on to an final point.